About the Institute

The European Neuroscience Institute Göttingen (ENI-G) was founded in 2000 by Prof. Dr. Erwin Neher (Max-Planck-Institute for biophysical Chemistry), Prof. Dr. Diethelm W. Richter (University Medical Center Göttingen, Dept. of Neuro- and Sensory Physiology) and Prof. Dr. Walter Stühmer (Max-Planck-Institute for experimental Medicine) as a cooperation project between the University Medical Center of Georg-August-University Göttingen and the Max-Planck Society. The Institute is supported by the:

  • Max-Planck Society

  • University Medical Center Göttingen

ENI-G is committed to the promotion of independent research by young investigators distinguished by high standards and scientific excellence. The Institute is devoted to experimental research on the functions and diseases of the nervous system. Currently, it is housing seven independent research groups performing basic molecular and cellular research concerning neurobiology. The aim is to understand the molecular mechanisms of the brain in its normal and disease state. The long-term goal is to foster the treatment of neurological and neurodegenerative diseases such as schizophrenia, Parkinson’s or Alzheimer’s disease.

The outstanding scientific community in Göttingen, such as the German Primate Centre, the Max-Planck Institutes as well as various institutes of the Georg-August University offer excellent opportunities for cooperation. An important aim of ENI-G is the Europe-wide promotion of the training of students and scientists in the area of neurosciences. Therefore, the Institute established a research and training network in cooperation with similar research institutions in Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, France, the Czech Republic, Poland, Italy, Portugal and the United Kingdom.

The members of the network commit themselves to the promotion of young investigators performing independent research embedded in a campus which provides facilities and programs for research-oriented training in the neurosciences. The members of the network perform regular exchanges of students and know-how, workshops and annual meetings. The European Union honoured this concept by supporting these networking activities with a Coordination Action project.

Independent research groups:

  • Distributed Neural Dynamics (Dr. Jorge Jaramillo), since 2020
  • Neural Computation and Behaviour (Dr. Jan Clemens), since 2017
  • Synaptic Physiology and Plasticity (Brett Carter, Ph.D.), since 2017
  • Neural Circuits and Cognition (Dr. Caspar Schwiedrzik), since 2017
  • Perception and Cognition (Arezoo Pooresmaeili, M.D. Ph.D.), since 2015


  • Synaptic Vesicle Dynamics (Dr. Ira Milosevic), 2012-2021
  • Visual Processing (Dr. Marion Silies), 2014-2019
  • Trans-synaptic Signaling (Camin Dean, Ph.D.), 2010-2018
  • Developmental Neurobiology (Dr. Till Marquardt), 2007-2016
  • Molecular Neurobiology (Dr. Dr. Oliver Schlüter), 2006-2015
  • Biomolecular NMR Spectroscopy (Lars Kuhn, D.Phil (Oxon)), 2008-2013
  • High-frequency Signaling (Dr. Stefan Hallermann), 2011-2013
  • STED Microscopy of Synaptic Function (Silvio O. Rizzoli, PhD) 2007-2012
  • Molecular Neurogenetics (Dr. Stefan Eimer), 2005-2012
  • Laboratory for Aging and Cognitive diseases (Dr. Andre Fischer), 2007 - 2011
  • Cell Biophysics (Dr. Fred Wouters), 2001 - 2007
  • Neuroplasticity (Dr. Stephan Sigrist), 2001 - 2006
  • Neuroendocrinology (Dr. Marjan Rupnik), 2000 - 2005
  • Neuroimmunology (Dr. Harald Neumann), 2000 - 2004